BVTW is now BVNA

Bella Vista Town Watch Association (BVTW) is now the Bella Vista Neighbors Association (BVNA). We’ve changed our name to align with our greater purpose!

Bella Vista Town Watch

Twenty years ago, the Bella Vista Town Watch was formed by concerned citizens so they could be better organized. Both long-term and newer residents were concerned about high crime rates, blight and the lack of basic city services. The Bella Vista community was changing, increasingly becoming “the” place to live. The community was known for its wonderful neighborhood feel, great restaurants, businesses and close proximity to Center City and the riverfront.

BVTW was founded in 1992 and incorporated in 1994 to help make our neighborhood a safer place to live, work and visit; we’ve changed and grown in stride with our community. Bella Vista now boasts one of the lowest crime rates in the city, so while public safety remains an important part of our focus, our vision has expanded. The neighborhood has grown, and over the years we have turned our focus, and our efforts, to a much broader “beautiful view” of Bella Vista. Now, besides Public Safety, additional committees work on a much broader scope of issues: Zoning, Neighborhood Improvement, Communications, Finance, Bylaws and Membership.

Come to the Bella Vista Neighbors Association meetings when they are announced and learn about your community and how you can get involved. Join a committee, take on a single project, help sweep-up your block. E-mail today to talk with a board member about your role in the future of Bella Vista.

Bella Vista Town Watch – Distinguished Community Service Award

2003 – Councilman Frank DiCicco – City 0f Philadelphia
2004 – Domenick Lazzaro – Bella Vista Neighbor
2005 – Joseph Cannistraci – BVTW Board
2006 – NA
2007 – Mary Tracy – Scenic America
2008 – Carla Puppin – Bella Vista Neighbor
2009 – Naz Pantaloni – Bella Vista Neighbor
2010 – William Fuller – City of Philadelphia, Palumbo Recreation Center
2011 – Tally Brennan – BVTW Board
2012 – Captain Joseph Bologna – City of Philadelphia Police Department
2013 – Greg Pastore – BVTW President and Zoning

Bella Vista Neighbors Association Distinguished Community Service Award

2014 – Nathan Snyder – BVTW Officer and Communications
2015 – Councilman Mark Squilla – District 1, City Council of Philadelphia
2016 – John Smyth
2017 – Ric Hayman
2018 – Lisa French, Friends of Nebinger